Hello world!

To all of my friends and readers, this blog represents something I should have done a long time ago:  put in one place all of my views, rants and screeds on the political, economic and financial world we live in.   Here, I will opine (and sometimes vent) on politics, economics and finance.

For those who know me well, they know that I get rather animated–the understatement of the century–when discussing these issues.  Until recently, most would not dare discuss them with me for fear of getting into a heated discussion on such topics as taxes, health care or constitutional law at Sunday morning brunch.  However, these discussion would not stay as discussions for very long, but would rather end with me screaming at someone that they were flat out wrong–i.e. had views that did not coincide with mine.  I believe this blog will allow me to discuss the issues I feel most strongly about without screaming at anyone.

The inspiration for this blog is my beautiful and much smarter and more talented wife, Aly.  Over the nine years we have been together, she has sat through countless hours of political talk shows and CSPAN.  Finally, this year, after having to endure nightly viewings (and listening to me scream at the TV) of Countdown with Keith Olberman and CNN’s coverage of my playoffs, Superbowl and World Series–the presidential election–and spending countless Sunday nights in front of CNBC as it covered the end of the world (the fall of Lehman Brothers and AIG), she told me to just get a blog and put my analyses on “paper.”   I have decided it was time to listen to her.  For those who have been on the receiving end my vitriolic emails this year on such topics ranging from marginal tax rates to universal health care to the possible bailout of my former employer, this marks the end of my clogging your in-box.

I invite, encourage and insist that those who read this blog comment on my posts, correct any facts that I have gotten wrong and point out any inconsistency in my positions.  Bottomline:  tell me when I got it wrong or simply have no idea what I am talking about.  The ethic of my law firm (and what I like most about my religion) is to question every assertion, argument and position advocated, no matter whether it is asserted by the most junior associate or senior partner.  Not only is this encouraged, it is expected and demanded.  I expect nothing less here.

Lastly, a little bit about myself.  I am New Yorker, born and raised, but I now live in the place I have dubbed the People’s Republic of Beverly Hills.  As it was pointed out at our rehearsal dinner, people know I am still a New Yorker, because who else in LA has a (917) cell number, subscribes to the Times (no, not the LATimes), and expects people to know that when he is discussing the City he is referring only to Manhattan and nothing else (MC, thanks).  As Aly knows all to well, I went to and am a strong believer in public schools.  After attending New Rochelle High School, I spent my freshman year in the frozen tundra of the University of Rochester in Western New York.  After my freshman year of not seeing the sun from October to May, I decided to transfer to the tropical University of Pennsylvania, where I studied economics and political science.  More importantly, I met my wife and my partner, Aly.  After graduation, I did what most Ivy Leaguer did (as of 2006 over 60% of those who sought employment directly after graduation):  went to work on Wall Street as an investment banker (with Lehman Brothers in its Communications & Media Group).  Following my two year stint at LB, I returned to UPenn to attend law school.  My law school essay revolved around my “religious” viewing of Meet the Press with the late and great Tim Russert.  Upon graduating from law school, I took a clerkship with Judge Nora Manella, formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California.  After a humbling and mentally taxing (but intellectually challenging and satisfying) year clerking, I began my employment as a litgator in Los Angeles.  Currently, I am back as a student, studying tax at Loyola Law School in its Tax LL.M. program.

Outside of work, I love to play tennis, cards, board games, hike, collect wines, rub it into those I love that it is constantly 75 and sunny, watch my Yankees and NY Giants,  and live by my motto:  “Life is too short for bad meals!”

I hope you all enjoy my foray into blogging.

P.S.–This final note is mainly for my dad:  There may be many grammatical and spelling errors in my posts.  But given that this is a blog and not the Times:  DEAL WITH IT!!

9 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. MC Says:

    Glad to see you finally found an outlet for your views. And thanks for being the first person to ever cite one of my rehearsal dinner speeches.

  2. aneuman Says:

    “I believe this blog will allow me to discuss the issues I feel most strongly about without screaming at anyone. ”

    Finally. Ear plugs were getting old.

  3. Aly Says:

    Does this mean you’ll stop yelling at the TV?

    Congrats on your first two posts! Keep it up!

  4. Susan Says:

    Congratulations! I’ll gently respond to your mortgage interest blog later.

  5. Janis Says:

    Mazel Tov! Now I can read what you are saying instead of asking you to slow down, stop mumbling, and repeat what you said. And unlike Susan I won’t respond gently to the mortgage interest issue.

  6. Malina Says:

    Great first entry. . . and thanks for helping clear my inbox!

  7. stan Says:

    This is great.It does make me proud to see all those sophisticated ideas in print and know they came from you, even if some of them are not gramatically correct.I will get over it !
    More importantly, it is a place to let everyone understand the rationale of your ideas without getting caught in the emotion of the delivery of these ideas.
    And one last point, I am glad you like the religion that we chose for you, and how it makes you question so much. But a little credit to the old man for urging you (and your sister) to “think critically”.You’re welcome.
    Keep up the great work !

  8. Mark Says:

    Matt,

    This is a great new site. I look forward to the venting, diatribe, pontification, education, stress relief, anxiety production, and thought provocation.

    An east coast fan

  9. FolioGuru Says:

    This really shows you have too much time on your hands. But, if it will provide an outlet, save the neighbors from the yelling and make your spouse happier then it is a good thing.

    Good luck and you might be hearing from me.

Leave a Reply

