Do Republicans Not Understand That The Internet Has Changed Politics Forever

I was not intending to use this blog to score “cheap” political points, but with the Republicans’ acerbic comments regarding the Speaker of the House in the face of their utter, bald-face hypocrisy, I feel I must write this post.  On Monday, the former, now disgraced Speaker of the House Newt Gingrich stated:

“To have the person third in line to be president say that the CIA misleads us all the time is so utterly irresponsible and such an attack on the men and women who are risking their lives … that she disqualifies herself for being speaker of the House.”

On ABC Radio, he went further:

“I think she has lied to the House, and I think that the House has an absolute obligation to open an inquiry, and I hope there will be a resolution to investigate her. And I think this is a big deal. I don’t think the Speaker of the House can lie to the country on national security matters,”

I think this is the most despicable, dishonest and vicious political effort I’ve seen in my lifetime.” “She is a trivial politician, viciously using partisanship for the narrowist of purposes, and she dishonors the Congress by her behavior.”

Minority Leader Boehner has stated that:

“It’s hard for me to imagine,” Boehner said, ”that anyone in the intelligence areas would mislead us… I don’t feel.. that I have been misled.”

Yet back in 2007,  on CNN, in response to Wolf Blitzer’s question “Are you suggesting, as I think you are, that you don’t necessarily have confidence in this new NIE [National Intelligence Estimate on Iraq]?” Boehner responded:

“Either I don’t have confidence in what they told me several months ago or I don’t have confidence in what they’re telling me today.”

And then there is Representative Pete Hoekstra, ranking member on the House Intelligence Committee (and former Chairman).  On CNN he stated:

She made some outrageous accusations last week where she said that the CIA lied to her and lied systematically over a period of years. That is a very, very serious charge.

On FoxNews, he continued:

I think you do go back and you break it into two different issues. One is the performance, how well, [the CIA is] doing [its] job. The second is whether they have misled or lied to Congress, two very, very different issues.

Wouldn’t you know, not 2 years ago, the same Representativeve Hoekstra accused the CIA of lying to Congress:

(The CIA) told us this was the first time that anything happened out of the ordinary, that all guidelines in the past had been meticulously followed, and that was a lie.  Every shoot-down prior to this, they never followed the rules as meticulously as they should have.

We need to follow up as aggressively as we can.  We cannot have an intelligence community that covers up what it does and then lies to Congress.

So let me get this straight:  it’s ok for Republicans to call the CIA liars, but it is the end of American Democracy if the Speaker does the same.  Right.  I must have missed Gingrich’s comments calling his fellow republicans “trivial politicians” and stating that they should not be allowed to serve as leaders in Congress.  The Republicans might not look like such hypocrites if they understand it is never a good idea to make such absolute statements without at least performing a Google search to make sure they or their colleagues have not committed similar “sins.”
he

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

